You are here:

MS health professionals honoured at QuDoS in MS 2017

Published on

The outstanding work of MS specialist nurses, neurologists, allied health professionals and multi-disciplinary teams from across the UK was celebrated at the third annual QuDoS in MS recognition programme.

Supported by Pharmaphorum in partnership with the MS Trust, and sponsored by both Roche and Biogen, QuDoS in MS highlights the very best examples of innovation and exceptional work in MS care, and recognises the incredible contribution of individuals and teams in improving the quality of life and experience of care for people living with MS.

This year’s categories included outstanding MS nurse, outstanding MS allied health professional, outstanding MS pharmacist, outstanding MS physician and outstanding MS team, plus innovation in care, access to patient information, real-world evidence in care, and two special judges’ awards.

Held on the eve of the MS Trust Annual Conference at the Hinkley Island Hotel in Leicester, the 2017 ceremony was hosted by consultant neurologist at the University Hospital of Wales, and QuDoS judge, Dr Trevor Pickersgill.

Dr Pickersgill commented: “My fellow judges and I were very pleased to have received such a wide range of entries for this year’s programme, clearly showing the hard work and innovative thinking of so many teams and individuals working to support people with MS and improve the quality of their patients’ lives.”

His fellow judge, patient advocate Trishna Bharadia, added: “Being on the judging panel… filled me with optimism, knowing there are so many great initiatives out there to improve services for people with MS.” 

Pam Macfarlane, Chief Executive of the MS Trust, praised the work of MS health professionals: “People with MS rely on their specialist teams so much. It’s wonderful to see them recognised for all the work they do. So many of them go the extra mile.”


Outstanding specialist nurse: Sarah White, St George’s Hospital, London

Outstanding allied health professional: Tania Burge, MS specialist physiotherapist, North Bristol NHS Trust

Outstanding physician: Dr Adnan Al-Araji, Royal Stoke MS Centre

Outstanding pharmacist: Aoife Shields, University College London Hospitals NHS Trust

Team of the year: Dorset Multiple Sclerosis Service

Innovation in care: MS Buddy Scheme, Wessex MS Therapy Centre

Accessible patient information in care: Frimley Park Hospital MS Service, Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust

Real-world evidence in care: Therapeutic Opportunities Team (TOPS Team), North Bristol NHS Trust

Judges’ special awards: NHS Western Isles MS Service and Neurological Examination Nurse Training Course, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

Print this page